Aurora Borealis? How About Aurora Beerealis?

Standard

If you haven’t figured this out yet, I love a good pun. Or a bad pun. All puns, really.

Alright, back to the real reason for this post. You might have heard something about the Northern Lights being visible in Connecticut today and tomorrow, Jan. 9 and 10.

I started wondering what I would serve at a Northern Lights party (mainly so I could use that pun). And then I started thinking about what kind of drinks I’d serve. Because if you’re going to have a themed party, the beer and wine needs to coincide!

I searched online and found some pretty perfect drinks to serve at a Northern Lights party. I admit that I haven’t had firsthand experience with these — if you have, let me know how these are!

Image

(Photo credit: Moyan_Brenn, via flickr creative commons) 

Starr Hill’s Northern Lights

Can’t have a Northern Lights-themed party without it! This beer is an IPA with 6.5 % ABV.

Nøgne Ø/Bridge Road Aurora Borealis

Well, check out the ABV on this! 14.9 %!

Autumn Harvest Winery’s Northern Lights

This is a semi-sweet white wine made in Wisconsin. Can we get it in Connecticut? No. But we can order it online!

Bet you’re hungry too, right?

Since you can’t starve at our virtual Northern Lights viewing party, here’s some menu ideas!

Lastly, this cocktail is aptly named Aurora Borealis and I have to wonder if it’s as awesome as it looks! I’m pretty sure the cocktails doesn’t actually come with galaxies…

I heard it’s the tonic water that makes it glow under a blacklight. So now I have a new goal — to try and make this drink. Oh, and buy a black light.

Let me know if you see the Northern Lights and hey, come follow newly created Books, Brews & Booze on Facebook and Twitter!

One thought on “Aurora Borealis? How About Aurora Beerealis?

Leave a Reply

