My Year With Beer

Standard

beer photo-77

I’m not a big fan of New Year’s resolutions so this year, I decided to make some New Year’s Reso-brew-tions. Here’s what I hope to accomplish this year, in the craft beer world.

1.) Cultivate my beer tasting abilities

I follow these awesome beer bloggers like Bräuista and CraftBrewGuy and I’m always impressed by how they describe beers, from the smell to the look to the taste. Terms like “lacing” and “carbonation” are words I never paid much attention to before.

So I’m cultivating my beer tasting abilities and how I describe beer. If you’re new to the game too, maybe this will help!

I’m reading “The Beer Trials” by Seamus Campbell and Robin Goldstein (shout-out to The Book Barn in Niantic, where I got the book).

 book barn photo-81

This is what Campbell and Goldstein recommend asking yourself when you drink a beer:

  • Is the beer bitter or sweet?
  • Is the aroma floral? Citrusy? Grainy?

It’s just a start, but it’s really helping get more in tune with my taste buds. Do you have any tasting tips?

2.) Try more sours

IPAs — that’s what I remember hearing a ton about over the past year. I’m thinking 2014 is going to be The Year of the Sour.

I just really love the taste of sours so my goal is to drink more of ‘em! I’m pretty partial to lambic beers and red ales. I went to Cask Republic in New Haven (beautiful spot, worth a visit).

cask republic photo-78

I asked CraftBrewGuy for some recommendations before I went. I told him what my tastes were like and he recommended Lindemans Kriek.

kriek photo-79

Beautiful color (hard to tell in this pic), a fizz to it and a nice, sour cherry taste. This is an awesome beer but here’s what’s really cool about it — it’s a bridge for people who traditionally don’t like beer, to cross over into this world.

I told my friend Fay how awesome Kriek was and she was sure she’d hate it, because she said she’s never tasted a beer she liked. Until Kriek.

A woman overheard us talking about it and said she hates beer too. But when I described Kriek to her, she went and bought one and is a convert too. So I’m basically a beer spirit guide. 🙂

Here’s a question for you guys. What are the must-have sour brews I should try?

3.) Go to more breweries

There’s so many to visit and I can count the number I’ve been to on one hand! Help me make a list of breweries to visit and tell me your favorite spots!

8 thoughts on “My Year With Beer

  1. I love all the Lindemans. My favorite is probably the cassis, but the peach also nice. A staple for us is the raspberry Lambic. We actually toasted to our engagement with a Mort Subite Raspberry beer.

Leave a Reply

